1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. State Current Affairs  |  

JMM withdrew support from BJP in Jharkhand and Reduced It to Minority

Jan 8, 2013 17:30 IST

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) on 7 January 2013 announced withdrawal of support from the existing Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) led coalition Government in Jharkhand. The support withdraw by JMM has reduced BJP to a minority party in the State Assembly.

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha gave two reasons for the withdrawal of its support from the BJP and they were, Chief Minister Arjun Munda’s refusal from recognizing the JMM’s claim on the agreement to hold the Chief Minister’s office for 28 months each party and also because of the derogatory remarks against Shibu Soren by Nishikant Dubey, MP from Godda.

Status of seats of different Political Parties in 81-member Assembly

•    JMM – 18 seats
•    BJP – 18 seats
•    All Jharkhand Students Union – 6 seats
•    Janta Dal United – 2 seats
•    Congress – 13 seats
•    Jharkhand Vikas Morcha – 11 seats

Since its formation in the year 2000, there have been eight Chief Minister’s in the Jharkhand and the state has seen President Rule twice.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes12 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: JMM , BJP , Arjun Munda , Jharkhand

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK