Justice Ashok Kumar Mathur appointed to head 7th Central Pay Commission

Justice Askhok Kumar Mathur has been appointed as the Chairman of the 7th Pay Commission that will submit report in 2 years.

Created On: Feb 4, 2014 15:15 ISTModified On: Feb 4, 2014 15:20 IST

Former Supreme Court Justice, Ashok Kumar Mathur on 4 February 2014 was appointed as the Chairman of the 7th Pay Commission. Vivek Rae, the Petroleum and Natural Gas Secretary will be the full time member director.

Ratin Roy of National Institute of Public Finances and Policy will be part-time member of the commission. Officer on Special Duty in the Department of Expenditure, Meena Agarwal will be the Secretary of the Pay panel.

The Commission has been mandated to submit its report in two years time. Its recommendation would be implemented from 1 January 2016. Manmohan Singh, the Prime Minister of India has approved composition of the 7th Pay Commission in September 2013 that will revise the salaries of over 50 lakh central government employees and about 30 lakh pensioners.  

The Pay Commission is constituted every ten years by the government of India to revise the pay scales of its employees and often these are adopted by states after some modification. The 6th Pay Commission was implemented with the effect from 1 January 2006, while the fifth and fourth commissions were implemented from 1 January 1996 and 1 January 1986 respectively.

In May 1946, the first Pay commission was constituted under the chairmanship of Srinivasa Varadachariar. It submitted its report in a year. The first commission was based upon the idea of living wages to the employees, which was taken by the Islington Commission.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

5 + 9 =