1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Justice Palanisamy Sathasivam Sworn in as the Chief Justice of India

Jul 19, 2013 10:50 IST

The President of India, Pranab Mukherjee on 19 July 2013 administered the oath of the office of Chief Justice of India (CJI) to Justice Palanisamy Sathasivam. Justice Sathasivam, 64, is first CJI from Tamil Nadu and the 40th CJI of India.

The term of his office will be till 26 April 2014. Justice Palanisamy Sathasivam succeeded CJI Altamas Kabir who left the office on 18 July 2013.

The oath taking ceremony of CJI Palanisamy Sathasivam was held at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

The Supreme Court is the highest court of appeal as established by Part V, Chapter IV of the Indian Constitution and Article 124 to 147 states about the composition of Supreme Court of India. Supreme Court of India consists of one Chief Justice and 31 judges.

It is important to note that P. Sathasivam on 29 June 2013 was appointed as the next Chief Justice of India after he justified the Collegiums System of appointment of Judges.


P. Sathasivam appointed as the Next Chief Justice of India

Altamas Kabir sworn-in as 39th Chief Justice of India

Is this article important for exams ? Yes70 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK