Kalikho Pul sworn in as Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh

Feb 21, 2016 08:09 IST

Kalikho PulKalikho Pul on 19 February 2016 was sworn in as the ninth Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh.

Pul was sworn in as the CM with the support of 18 rebel Congress MLAs, and two Independents and 11 BJP MLAs who gave outside support.

State Governor J P Rajkhowa administered the oath of office to Pul around 9.30 in the night.


Arunachal Pradesh witnessed a political crisis after 14 Congress MLAs were suspended by Speaker Nabam Rebia in June 2015.

Later in December 2015, the Deputy Speaker TN Thongdok cleared an impeachment motion against the Speaker owing to his personal relationship with Chief Minister Nabam Tuki.

On 26 January 2016, President Pranab Mukherjee approved the Union Cabinet’s recommendation for the imposition of President’s rule on Arunachal Pradesh.

The President’s Rule was lifted after the Supreme Court vacated its interim order to maintain status quo in the Arunachal Pradesh assembly, paving the way for government formation.

President Pranab Mukherjee on 19 February 2016 approved the recommendation of the Union Cabinet for revocation of the President's Rule in the state.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes9 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Arunachal Pradesh , Kalikho Pul , Congress , BJP , President’s Rule

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK