Kapil Dev to head Arjuna Awards Selection Committee

Former Indian cricketer Kapil Dev Nikhanj was selected as the Chairperson of the Arjuna Awards Selection Committee

Created On: Aug 8, 2014 18:31 ISTModified On: Aug 8, 2014 18:34 IST

Former Indian cricketer Kapil Dev Nikhanj was selected as the Chairperson of the Arjuna Awards Selection Committee on 7 August 2014. This Committee will choose outstanding sportspersons for 2014 of the Country. This Committees will have 15 members which includes12 sportspersons and 3 officials.

Apart from this, the three-time Olympian and former Hockey Captain Ajitpal Singh was selected as the Chairman for Dronacharya Committee.

The awards are scheduled to be presented on 29 August 2014 (National Sports Day). The Committee will recommend the deserving sportspersons for the prestigious awards and a final decision vests with Union Sports Minister Sarbanand Sonowal.

In 2013, the Arjuna Awards Selection Committee was headed by four-time world billiards champion Michael Ferreira.

The Arjuna Award instituted in 1961 by Government of India recognises outstanding achievements of sportspersons in the field of sports at international level. The award carries a cash prize of 500000 rupees a bronze statuette of Arjuna and a scroll.

About Arjuna Award Selection Process

  • A sportsperson should have had not only good performance over the previous four years at the International level but also should have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline are eligible for the Award.
  • Sportspersons who have been penalized or against whom enquiry is pending/ongoing for use of drugs/substances banned by the World Anti Doping Agency (WADA) will not be eligible for the Award.
  • The Government will only consider conferring Arjuna Award in the disciplines falling under following categories:-Olympic Games/Asian Games/Commonwealth Games/World Cup/World Championship disciplines and Cricket or any equivalent recognized international Tournament, Indigenous Games and Sports for physically challenged

About Kapil Dev

Kapil Dev was a right-arm fast medium bowler and all-rounder who captained Indian cricket team when India won Prudential World Cup (ICC World Cup) in 1983. He bagged 434 Wickets in 131 Tests in his 16-year long Career and got Arjuna Award in 1980.

For his excellence in Cricket he has been awarded with several awards like:

1979–80 – Arjuna Award
1982 – Padma Shri
1983 – Wisden Cricketer of the Year
1991 – Padma Bhushan
2002 – Wisden Indian Cricketer of the Century
2010 – ICC Cricket Hall of Fame
2013 - The 25 Greatest Global Living Legends in India by NDTV
2013 - CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award (announced)

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

7 + 4 =