Kevin Rudd sworn in as new Australian Prime Minister

Kevin Rudd on 27 June 2013 was sworn in as Australia’s new prime minister ousting Julia Gillard

Created On: Jun 27, 2013 16:23 ISTModified On: Jun 27, 2013 17:05 IST

Kevin Rudd on 27 June 2013 was sworn in as Australia’s new prime minister ousting Julia Gillard as Labor chief in a ballot. He was sworn in at Government House in Canberra by Governor General Quentin Bryce.

Kevin Rudd conserved his dramatic return after a leadership ballot on 26 June 2013 in which Gillard, the country’s first female premier, was forced to leave in a party-room vote and announced her retirement from politics.

55 years old Kevin Rudd won the vote of Labor lawmakers 57 to 45 amid mounting unease in the party over an expected rout by Tony Abbott's conservative opposition at the national polls in September 2013.

A Brief Insight into Kevin Rudd’s Political Career

• Kevin Michael Rudd is the 27th Prime Minister of Australia, as well as Leader of the Labor Party.
• Earlier he held the position of Prime Minister from 2007 to 2010, and Labor Leader from 2006 to 2010; he is the first former Prime Minister to return to the office since Robert Menzies in 1949.
• He worked for the Department of Foreign Affairs from 1981 to 1988, where he became Chief of Staff to the Labor Premier of Queensland, Wayne Goss.
• Kevin Rudd was first elected to the House of Representatives for Griffith at the 1998 federal election, joining the Shadow Cabinet in 2001 as Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs.
• In year 2006, he become the Leader of the Labor Party by successfully challenging Kim Beazley and subsequently become the Leader of the Opposition.
• In year 2007 Kevin Rudd’s Labor Party won the federal election with a 23-seat swing, and Rudd was sworn in as the 26th Prime Minister of Australia on 3 December.

Some Important Points to be remembered
about Australian Prime Ministers

• There have been 27 Prime Ministers and 43 elections up to 2012.
• The 27 Prime Ministers have served 32 separate terms of office.
• 10 Prime Ministers have been defeated at a general election, They are : Deakin, Fisher, Cook, Bruce, Scullin, Chifley, McMahon, Fraser, Keating, Howard.    
• There have been 7 Prime Ministers who never won an election, They are: Watson, Reid, Page.
• There have been 10 Opposition Leaders who contested elections but never became Prime Minister, they are: Tudor, Charlton, Evatt, Calwell, Snedden, Hayden, Peacock, Hewson, Beazley & Latham.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

4 + 0 =