Lionel Messi won the FIFA Ballon d’Or Award for fourth time

Lionel Messi on 7 January 2013 won the FIFA Ballon d’Or Award for fourth time.

Jan 8, 2013 12:17 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Lionel MessiLionel Messi, the Argentine footballer won FIFA Ballond’Or Award on 7 January 2013 as a reward to his 91-goal in a year for Barcelona and Argentina, in the year 2012. Messi voted to be the best player for the fourth year in a row managed to beat his close competitors, Cristiano Ronaldo of Spanish champion Real Madrid and Barcelona teammate Andres Iniesta.

To win this award, Messi won 41.60 percent votes and was followed by Ronaldo, who won 23.68 percent votes and Andres Iniesta, who won 10.91 percent votes of all the votes casted. The votes were casted by National Team Coaches and Captains as well as journalists invited. All these people, helped in selecting the top three from a huge list of 23 nominated players. With this win for the fourth time, Messi has left behind the three time FIFA winners namely Zinedine Zidane of France and Ronaldo of Brazil.

The FIFA Ballon d’Or Award

FIFA Ballon d’Or Award was started in the year 2010 after merging the two, France Football's Ballon d'Or and the men's FIFA World Player of the Year Award. It is the association’s football award that is awarded to the year’s best performer. The player is selected via voting process and the votes are casted by the captains and coaches of the International Teams as well as the journalists from across the world.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए