1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Maithiripala Sirisena sworn-in as 7th President of Sri Lanka

Jan 10, 2015 12:01 IST

Pallewatte Gamaralalage Maithripala Yapa Sirisena (Maithiripala Sirisena) was on 9 January 2015 sworn-in as the 7th President of Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka’s Supreme Court Judge K Sri Pawan administered the oath of office to Maithiripala Sirisena at a oath taking ceremony held at the Independence Square in Colombo.

Before the swearing-in ceremony of President Maithripala Sirisena, the leader of the United National Party (UNP) Ranil Wickramasinghe took the oath as Prime Minister of Sri Lanka.

Maithripala heads a rainbow coalition of several parties including United National Party and the Buddhist Monk party.

Maithiripala Sirisena
• Born on 3 September 1951, Sirisena earned a Diploma in Political science at the Maxim Gorky Literature Institute in Russia.
• Sirisena joined mainstream politics in 1989 by contesting the parliamentary elections as an Sri Lankan Freedom Party candidate in Polonnaruwa district and was elected to Parliament.
• In 2001, Sirisena became the General Secretary of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party.
• In 2004, he was appointed as the Cabinet Minister of Mahaweli, River Basin & Rajarata Development.
• He was appointed as the Cabinet Minister of Agriculture, Irrigation and Mahaweli Development in 2005. Later in 2010, he was appointed as Cabinet Minister of Health.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes10 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Maithiripala Sirisena , President , Sri Lanka

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK