Malala and Mishab-ul-Haq conferred with Pakistan Civil Awards on Pakistan Day

Malala Yousafzai and Misbah-ul-haq along with 103 others conferred with the Pakistan’s Civil Awards on the Pakistan Day.

Created On: Mar 24, 2014 15:45 ISTModified On: Mar 25, 2014 13:03 IST

Malala Yousafzai and Misbah-ul-Haq along with 103 others were conferred with the Pakistan’s Civil Awards during a ceremony to observe the Pakistan Day on 23 March 2014. The awards were given at a ceremony held in Aiwan-e-Sadr in recognition of the services rendered by them to the nation. 

The list of 105 Civil Awards was approved by Mamnoon Hussain, the President of Pakistan on 14 August 2013 and 10 others were approved as special cases. The President also conferred the National Civil Awards on 39 individuals of which five are foreigners.

Malala, the teenage rights activist along with the slain Pakistani student Airezaz Hassan was awarded with the Sitara-i-Shuja'at for gallantry. Malala would be conferred the award in London by the Pakistan mission.

Misbah-ul-Haq, the national cricket captain of Pakistan for his services to sports was recognised with the President’s Award for Pride of Performance. Wali Khan Babar, the television reporter, who was shot dead in 2011, was awarded posthumously with the Pride of Performance Award.

Young television reporter Wali Khan Babar, who was shot dead in 2011, will be posthumously awarded the Pride of Performance award.

20 recipients of the National Awards (Civil) were decorated on behalf of the President by the Governor Punjab at the Governor's House in Lahore. Other 12 awards were given by the Governor Sindh, the Governor Khyber Pakhtunkhwa awarded to nine recipients, and five nominated people received the award from the Governor Balochistan in Quetta.

Pakistan Day
Pakistan Day is observed in form of celebration in the country to mark the passage of the Lahore Resolution of 1940 that led to the creation of Pakistan. Apart from this, Pakistan on 23 March 1956 adopted its first Constitution, which was the day of transition of dominion of Pakistan to the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. Pakistan on 23 March 1956 became the world's first Islamic republic.

Malala Yousafzai awarded with Bravery Award by World Peace and Prosperity Foundation

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Related Categories

Post Comment

6 + 6 =