Malala Yousafzai conferred 2014 Liberty Medal

Malala Yousafzai was conferred with the 2014 Liberty Medal at the National Constitution Centre in Philadelphia.

Created On: Oct 22, 2014 16:16 ISTModified On: Oct 22, 2014 16:42 IST

Malala Yousafzai was conferred with the 2014 Liberty Medal on 21 October 2014 at the National Constitution Centre in Philadelphia. She was honoured with the award for her continued demonstration of courage and resilience in the face of adversity and for serving as a powerful voice for those who have been denied their basic human rights and liberties.

The Pakistani teenager and Nobel Peace Prize winner is the youngest recipient of the American award, which was established in 1988 to commemorate the 200 years of the US Constitution.

Malala has pledged to donate the award money of 100000 US Dollars towards education in Pakistan.

About Liberty Medal
Liberty Medal is annually given to honour men and women of courage and conviction who strive to secure the blessings of liberty to people around the globe. It was established in 1988 to commemorate the bicentennial of the US Constitution. The medal was first administered by the National Constitution Center in 2006, when Presidents George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton were honored for their bipartisan humanitarian efforts on behalf of the victims of the tsunami in Southeast Asia and the hurricanes on the Gulf Coast. Six recipients of the medal have subsequently won the Nobel Peace Prize.

Previous recipients of this award include Hillary Rodham Clinton (2013), Muhammad Ali (2012), Robert Gates (2011), Tony Blair (2010), George H W Bush & Bill Clinton (2006), Kofi Annan (2001) and Hamid Karzai (2004). Lech Walesa was the first person to be honoured with the medal in 1989.

About Malala Yousafzai
Malala caught international attention at the age of 11 after writing for the BBC about life under the Taliban in Pakistan. She used her pen name as Gul Makai. She was conferred with Pakistan's National Youth Peace Prize in 2011 for her outspokenness. She was also nominated for the International Children's Peace Prize in 2011.

She became a target of an assassination by Taliban and was shot in the head when she was returning from school on a bus but she survived.

She is also the youngest Nobel Laureate ever. She was awarded the Nobel peace prize with Kailash Satyarthi. Satyarthi is an Indian children's rights activist, and received the award for his struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

1 + 2 =