Malini Subramaniam wins 2016 CPJ International Press Freedom Award

Nov 24, 2016 16:16 IST

Malini SubramaniamIndian journalist Malini Subramaniam on 23 November 2016 won the International Press Freedom Awards given by Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

Along with Subramaniam, three other journalists won the prestigious award.  They are Mahmoud Abou Zeid from Egypt, Can Dündar from Turkey and Oscar Martinez from El Salvador.

The CPJ chose these four journalists as “they have risked their freedom – and their lives – to report to their societies and the global community about critical news events.”

Subramaniam reports on buses by police and security forces, sexual violence against women, the jailing of minors, shutdown of schools, extrajudicial killings, and threats against journalists in the Bastar region in Chhattisgarh.

CA eBook

About International Press Freedom Award

The CPJ International Press Freedom Awards honours journalists or their publications around the world who show courage in defending press freedom despite facing attacks, threats or imprisonment.

The award was established in 1991.

They are administered by the Committee to Protect Journalists, which an independent, non-governmental organization based in New York City.

The CPJ seeks to focus local and international media coverage on countries where violations of press freedom are particularly serious.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes8 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK