1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Maria Sharapova of Russia won the women’s single of Italian Tennis Open for third time

May 18, 2015 17:45 IST

Russian Maria Sharapova on 17 May 2015 won the women’s singles of Italian Open for the third time.  She defeated Spain's Carla Suarez Navarro by 4-6 7-5 6-1. The Italian Open title was held in Rome, Italy.

The men’s singles of the Italian Open (also called Rome Masters) was won by Novak Djokovic of Serbia.

The Italian Open is the most prestigious red clay tennis tournament in the world after the French Open. The men's competition of the Open is an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event on the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) tour, and the women's competition is a Premier 5 event on the Women's Tennis Association (WTA) tour.

The two events were combined in 2011. The tournament is played on clay courts, currently during the second week of May. The event is also known as the Rome Masters and the Italian Championships.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes22 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK