1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Mariko Kipchumba of Kenya won 2015 Beijing International Marathon

Sep 21, 2015 11:03 IST

Mariko Kipchumba of Kenya on 20 September 2015 won the annual Beijing International Marathon. He finished the 42.195-km course in 2 hours 14 minutes and 25 seconds.

In women’s competition, Ethiopian runner Betelhem Cherenet won the title in 2 hours 27 minutes and 31 seconds.

With the present win, forty-one-year-old Kipchumba became the first non-Ethiopian athlete to win the event since 2011. Francis Kiprop won the 2011 event.

About Beijing International Marathon

• The annual marathon race is being held in the Chinese capital Beijing since 1981.
• It begins at Tiananmen Square and finishes at the National Olympic Sports Centre stadium.
• Every year, it sees the participation of around 5000 athletes from different parts of the world.
• In the men’s category either a Kenyan or an Ethiopian won the race since 2004.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes4 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK