1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Mizoram won 68th Santosh Trophy of football by defeating Railways

Mar 10, 2014 09:09 IST

Santosh TrophyMizoram on 9 March 2014 won the 68th senior National football championship of Santosh Trophy by defeating Railways 3-0 in the final match played at Kanchenjungha Stadium in Siliguri, West Bengal. This is the maiden Santosh Trophy for Mizoram and this was also the first appearance for them in the final match.

Railways for the last time bagged Santosh Trophy in 1966 and since then (48 years) it has never won a single trophy.

List of goals scored in the final match and by whom
• First and second goal was made by captain of Mizoram, Zeco Zoram Sanga
• Third goal was scored by Lalrin Puia

With this win of the Santosh Trophy, Mizoram bagged 5 lakh rupees, while Railways as the runners-up got 3 lakh rupees. The matches of the Trophy were played at Kanchenjunga Stadium in Siliguri from 24 February 2014 to 9 March 2014.

This year’s game was played under a new format in which 10 teams qualified from the Zonal Qualifiers of which two each from the North, West, South, East and Northeast Zones. Each of the qualified teams was clubbed into two groups in which they played against each other. Top-two sides from each Group progressed into the semifinals and the winners played in the summit clash.

Group A: Services, Kerala, Mizoram, Uttarakhand and Maharashtra
Group B: West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Railways, Punjab and Goa

Is this article important for exams ? Yes33 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK