Montek Singh Ahluwalia, the Planning Commission Deputy Chairman Resigned

Montek Singh Ahluwalia resigned as the Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission of India on 17 May 2014.

Created On: May 21, 2014 16:16 ISTModified On: May 21, 2014 16:08 IST

Montek Singh Ahluwalia, the Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission of India resigned from his office on 17 May 2014. He submitted his resignation to the Prime Minister, Manmohan Singh after the Union Cabinet meet held in New Delhi.

Apart from Ahluwalia, another member of the Planning Commission BK Chaturvedi also submitted his resignation.

Full-time members of the Planning Commission members apart from Montek Singh Ahluwalia were

• BK Chaturvedi
• Saumitra Chaudhuri
• Syeda Hameed
• Narendra Jadhav
• Abhijit Sen
• Mihir Shah
• K Kasturirangan
• Arun Maira

All members of the Planning Commission submit their resignation to the Prime Minister who is also the Chairman of the Planning Commission. Since the term of the Commission is co-terminus with the Union Government term, hence all the members of Planning Commission resign as the term of the Union Government ends.

About Montek Singh Ahluwalia

Montek Singh Ahluwalia served Planning Chairman as its Deputy Chairman for nearly 10 years. He assumed the charge of Deputy Chairman on 6 July 2004. Under him, the Planning Commission drafted 11th Five Year Plan (2007-12) titled Towards Faster and More Inclusive Growth and 12th Five Year Plan (2012-17) titled Faster, More Inclusive and Sustainable Growth. Besides, a better half of the 10th Five Year Plan was also implemented during his stewardship.

Prior to becoming Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission, a position which carries the rank of Cabinet Minister, he was the first Director of the Independent Evaluation Office at the International Monetary Fund.

He was awarded Padma Bhushan for his contribution to the Indian economy.

About Planning Commission

The Planning Commission was set up by a Resolution of the Government of India in March 1950. It was constituted in pursuance of declared objectives of the Government to promote a rapid rise in the standard of living of the people by efficient exploitation of the resources of the country, increasing production and offering opportunities to all for employment in the service of the community.

Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Chairman of the Planning Commission and first Deputy Chairman was Gulzari Lal Nanda.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

9 + 7 =