Muralitharan, Lohmann, Morris and Rolton to be inducted into Cricket Hall of Fame

Jul 28, 2016 12:06 IST

Cricket Hall of FameThe International Cricket Council (ICC) on 27 July 2016 announced that Muttiah Muralitharan, Karen Rolton, Arthur Morris and George Lohmann will be inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.

With the announcement, off-spinner Muralitharan becomes the first Sri Lankan player to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The four cricketers were voted by the ICC Cricket Hall of Famers as well as members of the media. They will be presented with commemorative caps honouring their contribution to the game to mark their induction.

About Muttiah Muralitharan

Deshabandu Muttiah Muralitharan is a former Sri Lankan cricketer.

He was rated the greatest Test match bowler ever by Wisden Cricketers' Almanack in 2002.

He retired from Test cricket in 2010.

He registered his 800th and final wicket on 22 July 2010 from his final ball in his last Test match.

He holds the world record for the most wickets in both test and one-day cricket.

He took the wicket of Gautam Gambhir on 5 February 2009 in Colombo to surpass Wasim Akram's ODI record of 502 wickets.

He held the number one spot in the International Cricket Council’s player rankings for Test bowlers for a record period of 1711 days spanning 214 Test matches.

He was first Sri Lankan player to be named to the new Twenty20 tournament.

About Karen Rolton

Karen Rolton is a former Australian cricketer.

She is a left-handed batsman and occasional left-arm medium-paced bowler.

She has scored the most runs for Australia in women's Test cricket.

She made her international debut for Australia in 1995.

She has played in 14 Test matches, scoring 1002 runs at a batting average of 55.66, including two centuries and five half-centuries.

She made her top score of 209 not out against England at Headingley in 2001, setting a world record.

She has twice won the Australian International Woman Cricketer of the Year award in 2002 and 2003 and then in 2005 and 2006.

She was the International Cricket Council's inaugural Female Player of the Year in 2006.

She also holds the highest score in Women's Twenty20 cricket with an unbeaten 96.

She announced her retirement from international cricket in January 2010.

About Arthur Morris

Arthur Morris was an Australian cricketer who played 46 Test matches between 1946 and 1955.

He is regarded as one of Australia's greatest left-handed batsmen.

He was named in the Australian Cricket Board's Team of the Century in 2000.

He was inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame in 2001.

He passed away on 22 August 2015 at the age of 93.

About George Lohmann

George Lohmann was an English cricketer.

He is regarded as one of the greatest bowlers of all time.

He was the finest slip fielder of his time.

In county cricket, he scored two centuries for Surrey and averaged 25 in 1887.

He passed away on 1 December 1901 at the age of 36.

About ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame recognises the achievements of the legends of the game from cricket's long and illustrious history.

It was launched by the ICC on 2 January 2009 in association with the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA).

The inaugural inductees ranged from W. G. Grace to Graham Gooch.

Members of the Hall of Fame assist in the selection of future inductees.

There are more English players in the Hall of Fame than players from other countries.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK