1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Naveen Patnaik sworn-in as Chief Minister of Odisha for fourth consecutive term

May 21, 2014 17:10 IST

Naveen PatnaikNaveen Patnaik on 21 May 2014 was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Odisha for fourth consecutive term. The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) President Patnaik was sworn-in at the Raj Bhavan, Bhubaneswar.

Governor S C Jamir administered oath of office and secrecy to Naveen Patnaik and 21 other ministers.

The eleven ministers who took the oath as cabinet ministers were Pradip Kumar Amat; Dr Damodar Rout; Debi Prasad Mishra; Pradip Maharathy; Bijayshree Routray; Bikram Keshari Arukh; Usha Devi; Lal Behari Himirika; Jogendra Behera; Badri Narayan Patra and Puspendra Singhdeo.

The ten ministers of state who took the oath were Prafulla Mallick; Ramesh Chandra Majhi; Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak; Arun Kumar Sahu; Sanjay Kumar Dasburma; Sudam Marandi; Ashok Kumar Panda; Pranab Prakash Das; Pradip Panigrahi and Snehangini Chhuria.

In the recently concluded Assembly Election 2014, the BJD won 117 seats out of 147 seats in the Assembly. Whereas the Congress won 16 seats and BJP won 10 seats.

About Naveen Patnaik
• Naveen Patnaik was born in 1946. He founded the Biju Janata Dal Party in 1997.
• He was elected as a member to the 11th Lok Sabha in the by-election from Aska Parliamentary Constituency in Odisha from Janata Dal Party.
• He was the Union Minister for Mines from BJD party in the cabinet of A.B.Vajpayee.
• He has been the Chief Minister of Odisha consecutively for four times since 2000.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes60 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK