Neeraj Kumar appointed the New Commissioner of Delhi Police

India Current Affairs 2012. Neeraj Kumar, the 1976-batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer, was appointed as the new Commissioner of Delhi Police on 28 June 2012

Jul 3, 2012 01:02 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

The Union Home Ministry appointed Neeraj Kumar, the 1976-batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer, as the 18th Commissioner of Delhi Police on 28 June 2012. Neeraj Kumar succeeded B K Gupta who got his tenure as the Delhi Police Commissioner completed on 30 June 2012. Kumar, who was earlier serving as the Director General of Tihar Jail, assumed the new charge on 1 July 2012.

An AGMUT  (Arunachal-Goa-Mizoram and other Union Territories) cadre IPS officer, Kumar joined the coveted Indian Police Service in 1976. He completed his graduation and post-graduation from St Stephen’s College in Delhi.

Why Union Home Minister appoints the Police Commissioner of Delhi?

Since Delhi is the part of India's union territory and the law and order of an union territory comes under the ambit of Union Government, therefore the Union Home Ministry appoints the Commissioner of Delhi Police.

Important Facts:

The Government of India in 1966 constituted the Delhi Police Commission headed by Justice G.D.Khosla. The commission in its report recommended the introduction of Police Commissioner System, which was finally adopted by the government from 1 July 1978. In compliance with the recommendations made by Khosla Commission the Delhi Police was also reorganized in four Police districts, namely, North, Central, South and New Delhi. At present, there are 3 ranges, 9 districts and 180 police stations in Delhi.

Delhi Police with its present strength of above 76000 personnel is perhaps the largest metropolitan police in the world, larger than London, Paris, New York and Tokyo.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए