Jagran Josh Logo
  1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Environment | Ecology |  

Nepal Started Census of Endangered Species Tigers in Five Conservation Areas

Feb 6, 2013 12:46 IST

TigersNepal started a three-month-long census of the tigers on 4 February 2013. Tigers were declared as the endangered species by International Union for Conservation of Nature in 2010.

The census includes five main conservation areas in Nepal which include two wildlife reserves namely, Parsa and Shuklaphanta as well as three national parks namely Bardiya, Banke and Chitwan. All the conservation areas where census began lie in the Terai plains of the country. First counting of the tigers started in Shuklaphanta reserve which is situated in far-west region. The census was jointly started by the World Wide Fund for Nature and the National Trust for Nature Conservation. 50 cameras were installed in Shuklaphanta reserve for counting the number of tigers.

Nepal is said to be the abode of Royal Bengal Tiger that primarily dwells in dense forests of the Terai plains. Royal Bengal Tiger was declared as the endangered species by International Union for Conservation of Nature in 2010.
As per the initial census, there were a total of 200 tigers in Nepal. However, poaching remains a threat to tigers in Nepal.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes6 People Agreed

DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

Newsletter Signup
Follow us on
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK