New US travel ban includes N Korea, Venezuela, Chad among 8 countries

Sep 25, 2017 16:39 IST
New US travel ban includes N Korea, Venezuela, Chad among 8 countries

The President of United States, Donald Trump on 24 September 2017 issued a new travel ban that includes North Korea, Venezuela and Chad in the list of eight countries.

Trump cited reasons such as poor security and lack of cooperation with US authorities for including the nations on the travel ban list. The new restrictions replace the earlier ones that had gotten Trump embroiled in political and legal battles after they came across as a move to block entry of Muslims into the country.

The new order expands to countries beyond just Muslim-majority ones. Speaking on the ban issuance, Trump tweeted saying that making America safe was his number one priority. “We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet," he said.

CA eBook

Key Highlights

• The new restrictions impose complete or partial blocks on travel to the United States on the listed eight nations.

• Full travel bans have been placed on the nationals from North Korea and Chad.

• In case of Venezuela, the restrictions are limited to officials from a long list of government agencies and their families.

• Surprisingly, Sudan, one of the six Muslim-majority countries that featured on the original travel ban, was removed from the list.

• The ban on other Muslim-Majority nations including Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen remains like before.

C N R Rao chosen for 2017 Von Hippel Award

Rajiv Mehrishi sworn in as new CAG of India

Further, Trump said that the action was needed to press the countries to improve procedures for identifying their nationals and sharing information with the United States. In addition, he said that the list was created to advance foreign policy, national security and counterterrorism objectives.

The bans for the five countries from the previous 90-day order that expired on 24 September 2017 would immediately continue under the new order. For the newly added nations such as North Korea, Chad and Venezuela, the restrictions will be implemented starting 18 October.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes6 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK