1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

New Zealand won Rugby World Cup for record third time

Nov 2, 2015 11:11 IST

New Zealand on 31 October 2015 won the Rugby World Cup for the third time. In the final played at Twickenham Stadium in London, the New Zealanders defeated Australia 34-17.

With this win, New Zealand became the first team to retain the Webb Ellis Cup. For the All Black Caps, this was their first World Cup win outside New Zealand.

Since 2011, New Zealand has won 49 of the 54 games under Coach Steve Hansen.

World Rugby Awards Winners
Man of the Match: Dan Carter (New Zealand)
Team of the Year: New Zealand
Coach of the Year: Michael Cheika (Australia)
Player of the Year: Dan Carter (New Zealand)
Breakthrough Player of the Year: Nehe Milner-Skudder (New Zealand)
Try of the Year: Julian Savea (New Zealand) vs France
Referee of the Year: Nigel Owens

Webb Ellis Cup
• The Webb Ellis Cup is the trophy awarded to the winner of the Rugby World Cup, the premier competition in men's international rugby union.
• The Cup is named after William Webb Ellis, who is often credited as the inventor of rugby football.
• The trophy is silver gilt and has been presented to the winner of the Rugby World Cup since the first competition in 1987.
• It has been held thrice by New Zealand (1987, 2011 & 2015), twice by Australia (1991 & 1999) and South Africa (1995 & 2007), and once by England in 2003.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes10 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK