Nimaben Acharya becomes first woman Speaker of Gujarat Assembly

Know all about the senior BJP MLA Nimaben Acharya who became the first woman Speaker of the Gujarat Assembly on September 27.

Created On: Sep 28, 2021 12:20 IST
Senior BJP MLA Nimaben Acharya, Twitter/CMOGujarat
Senior BJP MLA Nimaben Acharya, Twitter/CMOGujarat

Senior BJP MLA Nimaben Acharya became the first woman Speaker of the Gujarat Assembly on September 27, 2021. The nomination of Acharya was unanimously elected on the first day of the state Assembly’s two-day monsoon session. Acharya’s name was proposed by Gujarat’s CM Bhupendra Patel to which the Leader of Opposition Paresh Dhanani also gave consent on behalf of the Congress party which comprises 65 MLAs in the 182-member House.

The post of Speaker of the Gujarat Assembly fell vacant when Rajendra Trivedi resigned on September 16, 2021. He joined the new state cabinet by CM Bhupendra Patel. Trivedi is in charge of the Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs as well as Revenue departments in the Gujarat state government.

BJP legislator Jetha Bharwad has been appointed as the Deputy Speaker of the Gujarat Assembly while Pankaj Desai has been made the Chief Whip. Bharuch BJP MLA Dushyant Patel has become the Deputy Whip.

First woman Speaker of the Gujarat Assembly

Since the formation of Gujarat state in 1960, BJP MLA Nimaben Acharya became the first woman speaker of the state Assembly. “I will fulfill the new responsibility to the best of my ability,” said Acharya.

The Gujarat Legislative Assembly secretariat had invited nominations for the posts of Speaker and Deputy Speaker. Nimaben Acharya had filed her nomination for the post of Speaker of the Gujarat Assembly on September 24, 2021, in the presence of BJP Chief Whip Pankaj Desai and Rajendra Trivedi. Acharya was acting as the protem speaker after Trivedi’s resignation.

Also read: SC Judges Appointment: 9 new judges take Oath of Office, including 3 women judges

Who is Nimaben Acharya?

Nimaben Acharya is a three-time BJP MLA and a two-time Congress MLA. 74-year-old Acharya is a senior BJP MLA from Bhuj constituency of Kutch district. Acharya is a veteran in Gujarat politics. She joined the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) in 2007. Since then, she has been winning consecutively. Prior to joining BJP, Acharya was a Congress lawmaker from Kutch district. She has worked on women’s empowerment, sports, and rural development.

Also read: For first time, Indian Army promotes five women officers to Colonel Time Scale rank

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Take Free Online UPSC Prelims 2021 Mock Test

Start Now

Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

8 + 7 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all