1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

No Nomination for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2014

Aug 13, 2014 16:42 IST

The selection committee headed by Kapil Dev gave no nominations for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2014 on 12 August 2014. The committee did not find anyone suitable for the country’s highest sports award.

However, the committee recommended names of fifteen sportsmen for Arjuna Awards. The nominations include cricketer Ravichandran Ashwin, golfer Anirban Lahiri and shooter Heena Sidhu, boxer Jai Bhagwan, athlete Tintu Luka.

The committee examined seven candidates for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, but found none of them deserving enough. These seven names were:
• Golfer Jeev Milkha Singh
• Tennis Player Somdev Dev Varman
• Badminton Star PV Sindhu
• Athlete Krishna Poonia
• Athlete  Vikas Gowda
• Para-Athlete Devendra Jhajaria
• Para-Athlete HN Girisha


The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award is India’s highest sports award given by the Union Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. It includes a medal and cash component.
Since the inception of the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 1991-92, this is the second time that there has been no nomination after 1993-94. The reason behind such cautious move of the selection committee was to avoid the kind of controversy that happened in 2013 during nomination of trap shooter Ronjan Sodhi for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Is this article important for exams ? Yes155 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK