1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams won the 2015 Miami Open Tennis Singles titles

Apr 6, 2015 10:00 IST

Novak DjokovicNovak Djokovic and Serena Williams won the 2015 Miami Open Men’s and women’s singles titles of the  respectively at Crandon Park Tennis Center in Miami, Florida.

Novak Djokovic of Serbia on 5 April 2015 beat the third seeded Andy Murray of Britain 7-6 (3), 4-6, 6-0 to win his fifth Miami Open title.

In doing so, Djokovic became the first player to win at Indian Wells and Miami back-to-back for three consecutive years.

With this win, Djokovic and Murray have combined to win eight of the past ten Miami Open men’s titles.

Serene Williams of the US on 4 April 2015 defeated the twelfth seed Suarez Navarro of Spain 6-2, 6-0 to secure the title for eighth time.

With this win, Williams has won 66 singles titles, one behind Billie Jean King of the US.

Earlier, she recorded her 700th career match win in the quarter-finals by defeating Sabine Lisicki of Germany.

At present, both Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams are placed at the top spots in men’s and women’s singles rankings respectively.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes53 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: 2015 Miami Open Tennis , Novak Djokovic , Serene Williams.

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK