1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Novak Djokovic won Australian Open 2013, defeated Andy Murray in Final

Jan 28, 2013 18:56 IST

Novak Djokovic of Serbia defeated Andy Murray of UK in four sets to win Australian Open 2013 final. The tournament was held in Melbourne. It was Djokovik’s third consecutive Australian Open title and fourth overall. Nine other tennis players had won consecutive Australian open tournament, but none three straight years. Djokovic had five break-point chances in the opening set, including four after having Murray at 0-40 in the seventh game, but couldn’t convert any of them. In 2012, Djokovic had started with an epic 5-hour, 53-minute five-set win over Rafael Nadal at the Australian Open, the longest Grand Slam final.

Djokovic won his first major title in 2008 Australian Open. He now has six Grand Slam titles altogether. Federer has won four of his 17 majors at Melbourne, and Agassi is the only other player to have won that many in Australia since 1968.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes51 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Novak Djokovic , Australian Open 2013 , Andy Murray

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK