1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

O’Sullivan named as Snooker’s Player of the Year

May 10, 2014 17:17 IST

Ronnie O’Sullivan on 8 may 2014 was crowned World Snooker’s Player of the Year at the sport's annual awards ceremony in London. Apart from this, O’Sullivan was also handed the Fans Player of the Year award after being voted by snooker supporters.

During the 2013/14 season, he won four titles, which included the Masters in January when he beat Mark Selby 10-4 in the final. He triumphed in the Welsh Open in March 2014 by rounding off a 9-3 defeat of Ding Junhui with a 147 break. This was 12th maximum of his career and a new record too.

Awards given in the ceremony are

World Snooker Player of the Year: Ronnie O'Sullivan
Snooker Writers Player of the Year: Ding Junhui
Fans Player of the Year: Ronnie O'Sullivan
Rookie of the Year: John Astley
Performance of the Year: Mark Selby
Magic Moment of the Year: Mark Selby
Special award for 100 Centuries: Neil Robertson
• 147 Club (players making a 147 during the season): Neil Robertson, Judd Trump, Mark Selby, Dechawat Poomjaeng, Gary Wilson, Shaun Murphy, Ronnie O'Sullivan
Hall of Fame inductees: Dennis Taylor and Cliff Thorburn


Is this article important for exams ? Yes56 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK