Petro Poroshenko sworn-in as President of Ukraine

Petro Poroshenko was sworn-in as the President of Ukraine in Kiev.

Created On: Jun 9, 2014 14:28 ISTModified On: Jun 16, 2014 16:42 IST

Petro Poroshenko was sworn-in as the President of Ukraine in Kiev on 7 June 2014. He was elected as President on 25 May 2014 with more than 54 percent of the vote.

He won the election against former Prime Minister Yulia Tymoshenko, who scored 12.81 percent of the votes. The election was not held in Crimea, which was unilaterally annexed by Russia in March 2014.

The term of office for the Ukrainian president is five years. In the Presidential election of Ukraine if no candidate obtain an absolute majority in the first round then second round will be held.

About Petro Poroshenko
• Poroshenko was born in Bolhrad, in central Ukraine.
• Poroshenko is the owner of the Roshen chocolates group.
• He created Solidarity political party in 2001 and it was renamed as All-Ukrainian Union Solidarity.
• Poroshenko served as the Minister of Foreign Affairs from 2009 to 2010 and as the Minister of Trade and Economic Development in 2012.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

6 + 1 =