1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Physicist Rajesh Gopakumar selected for G D Birla Award 2013

Mar 22, 2014 13:08 IST

Rajesh GopakumarPhysicist Rajesh Gopakumar was selected for the 23rd G D Birla Award for scientific research for the year 2013. It was announced by the K K Birla Foundation on 21 March 2014. The award carries a cash prize of 1.5 lakh rupees and a citation.

Gopakumar has been awarded for his important contributions on topics in Quantum Field Theory and String Theory. At present he is working as a theoretical physicist at Harish Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad.


Gopakumar, 46 has won many other awards including B M Birla Science prize in 2004 andThird World Academy of Sciences Award in 2013.

For 2012, G D Birla Award was given to Prof. Nibir Mandal of Jadavpur University for his work in area of structural geology.

About the G D Birla award
The G D Birla award for scientific research was instituted in 1991 to recognise significant scientific research undertaken by Indian scientists below the age of 50, working in India.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes52 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK