Portugal’s Pinto won Asia’s premier Mountain Biking Race

The top three riders in the Solo Men’s category are Luis Leao Pinto, Andi Seewald and Pau Zamora.

Oct 5, 2015 09:09 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Luis Leao Pinto of Portugal on 4 October 2015 won Asia’s premier mountain biking race and got the crown of ‘King of the Himalaya’ for the second time. He took time of 27:29:22 in the 600 km long 7 stages biking race that ended in capital Shimla of Himachal Pradesh.

Earlier, he won the crown in the year 2013.

The other two top riders in the Solo Men’s category were Andi Seewald of Germany and Pau Zamora of Spain. All of them have neck-to-neck race. Total 68 riders took part in the race and 54 completed it.


Besides, Catherine Williamson from (UK) emerged as the overall winner in the Open Women’s Solo category. She was followed by Ilda Periera of Portugal and Laxmi Magar from Nepal.

Reimund Dietzen, the veteran pro-rider is the winner in the Master’s solo category.

The riders experienced a net elevation of approximately 50000 ft as they rode though seventy degree steep up hills, uncontrollable down hills, cobbled pathways and single tracks other than the tarmacs, the meadows, the streams and the villages.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए