President approved appointment of Seven Judges to Madras High Court

President Pranab Mukherjee on 11 October 2013 approved seven members as judges of the Madras High Court.

Created On: Oct 12, 2013 12:01 ISTModified On: Oct 12, 2013 12:07 IST

President of India Pranab Mukherjee on 11 October 2013 approved seven of the eight names recommended by the Supreme Court collegium of judges headed by Chief Justice of India Justice P. Sathasivam for appointment as judges of the Madras High Court.

Names of the New Judges

1. R. Mahadevan
2. K. Kalyanasundaram
3. P.N. Prakash
4. S. Vaidyanathan
5. Smt. Pushpa Sathyanarayana
6. V. Ravi and
7. G. Chockalingam.

With their appointment, the strength of judges in the High Court will go up to 48 as against the sanctioned strength of 60.

In April 2013, the acting Chief Justice of the Madras High Court, Rajesh Kumar Agarwal, forwarded to the Union Law Ministry a list of 15 names, 13 from the Bar and two from the subordinate judiciary.

In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (1) of Article 217 of the Constitution of India, the President has appointed the Judges to High Court.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

5 + 3 =