President approves name of Four Judges for Supreme Court

NJAC wanted to replace the 22-year-old collegium system and provided equal say to politicians in appointment of judges to the Supreme Court and the High Courts.

Created On: May 12, 2016 12:50 ISTModified On: May 12, 2016 12:49 IST

Justice-AM-KhanwilkarPresident Pranab Mukherjee on 11 May 2016 signed the warrant for the appointment of four judges to the Supreme Court. These include three chief justices of high court and one senior advocate.

These names were recommended by the Supreme Court Collegium headed by Chief Justice of India TS Thakur on 4 May 2016.  The recommended ones were

Justices include

• Justice AM Khanwilkar of the Madhya Pradesh High Court

• Justice DY Chandrachud of the Allahabad High Court

• Justice Ashok Bhushan of the Kerala High Court to the Supreme Court

Senior lawyer

• L Nageshwar Rao: Fourth appointment

These four will be sworn in as Supreme Court judges on 13 May 2016, the last working day before the summer vacation. With this sworn-in event, the judicial strength of the Supreme Court will move up to 28.

They are the first appointments to the Supreme Court since the collegium system of judicial appointments was restored after the National Judicial Appointments Commission (NJAC) Act was struck down by a Supreme Court bench on 16 October 2015.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

2 + 1 =