1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

President conferred Punyabhushan Award on Prataprao Pawar

Jun 29, 2015 09:09 IST

Punyabhushan AwardPresident Pranab Mukharjee on 26 June 2015 conferred Punyabhushan Award on Prataprao Pawar, Chairman of Sakal Media Group (SMG) at Balgandharva Auditorium in Pune.

Pawar is the 27th recipient of the Punyabhushan award and his name was selected for the award by a committee led by scientist Raghunath Mashelkar.

Besides, President also felicitated five veteran freedom fighters in the function.

Punyabhushan Award
The Punyabhushan (Pride of Pune) award constituted by Tridal, Pune is annually announced by the Punyabhushan Foundation on 23 March with a view to commemorate the memory of Indian revolutionary martyrs Bhagat Singh, Sukhdev, and Rajguru.

It is awarded to an eminent personality from the field of art, music, culture, science, industry, social service, or sports in the city of Pune Maharashtra, India. The award carries a memento and cash prize of 1 lakh rupees.

26th Punyabhushan Award was presented to Dr Cyrus Poonawalla for his contribution to the field of Medicine & Research.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes22 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK