President Conferred Stree Shakti Puruskar 2013

President of India conferred Stree Shakti Puruskar to six women in recognition of their achievements in to mark International Women’s Day.

Created On: Mar 10, 2014 11:53 ISTModified On: Mar 10, 2014 16:08 IST

Stree Shakti Puruskar 2013Pranab Mukherjee, the President of India on 8 March 2014 conferred Stree Shakti Puruskar 2013 to six people in recognition of their achievements in New Delhi.

List of winners of the Stree Shakti Puruskar 2013




Rani Lakshmibai Award for the year 2013

Manasi Pradhan from Odisha

Work in the field of women’s empowerment

Rani Rudramma Devi Award for the year 2013

Dr. M. Venkaiah from Andhra Pradesh

Contribution in the field of women’s health

Mata Jijabai Award for the year 2013

Bina Sheth Lashkari from Maharashtra

Achievement in the field of education and training

Kannagi Award for the year 2013

T. Radha K. Prashanti from Andhra Pradesh

Achievement in the field of providing support to orphans, visually impaired, handicapped and destitute women


Rani Gaidinliu Zeliang Award for the year 2013

Dr. Vartika Nanda from Delhi

Creating awareness on women’s issues through media

Devi Ahilyabai Holkar Award for the year 2013

Dr. Seema Sakhare form Maharashtra

Contribution in the field of women’s rights, gender issues, legal counseling and institutional support to women and girls


About the Women's Award, Stree Shakti Puruskar
Indian women have played important roles before and after Independence of the country and the Government of India to recognise the success stories of such women to make them a role model for the future generations of Indian women. The Government of India had instituted five national awards, which are called as Stree Shakti Puruskar.

Awards are named after women, who were famous for their personal courage and integrity, namely

•Devi Ahilya Bai Holkar
•Mata Jijabai
•Rani Gaidenlou Zeliang
•Rani Lakshmi Bai

The award carries a cash prize of 3 lakh rupees and a citation and one of the awards is given towards recognition of personal achievements by a woman in difficult circumstances. The awards are given to women who have done work in any of the following areas:
• Support and rehabilitation of women and children in especially
• Difficult circumstances like destitute women and children, widows, victims of atrocities and conflicts, disabled women and children, aged women etc.
• Education and training
• Promoting self help groups
• Support to women in agriculture and rural industry, including promotion of technology to reduce drudgery
• Environment protection
• Empowerment of women for community and political participation
• Health, including through propagation of indigenous systems of medicine
• Creating awareness and consciousness on women's issues through the arts, media (including electronic and mass media), community bases programmes and others

Criteria for selection
• The nominee should be alive on the date of nomination and be above the age of 30 years of age
• The nominee should have been working in the relevant field for at last five years
• The achievement of the nominee in the relevant field should be clearly documented
• The achievement of the nominee should be verifiable and subject to objective appraisals
• Preference should be given to women who have come up in life after a great deal of struggle and adversity

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

7 + 3 =