1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

President of India, Pranab Mukherjee Gave Away Padma Awards 2013 in New Delhi

Apr 22, 2013 12:27 IST

Padma AwardsThe President of India, Pranab Mukherjee gave 54 Padma Awards at the function in Darbar hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on 20 April 2013.

Among those who were conferred with the awards were cricketer Rahul Dravid and actors Sridevi and Sharmila Tagore. While Rahul Dravid and Sharmila Tagore were conferred with the Padma Bhushan, Sridevi received Padma Shri, which is the fourth highest civilian award of India.
Prof Yashpal, the scientist and sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra received the second highest civilian award of India, Padma Vibhushan. Padma Bhushan, on the other hand was conferred upon Defence Research and Development Organisation chief V K Saraswat. Other Padma Bhushan awards recipients included S G Patil (public affairs), Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak (literature and education) and Hemandra Singh Panwar (civil service).

No one received the Bharat Ratna for 2013. The last awardee for Bharat Ratna was late Bhimsen Joshi who had won in 2008.

Out of the total of 54 Padma award, 2 were the Padma Vibhushan awards, 10 were the Padma Bhushan awards and 42 were the Padma Shree awards.

The list of the winners was announced on 25 January 2013.


Padma Awards for the Year 2013 announced on the Eve of India’s 64th Republic Day

List of Awardees

Is this article important for exams ? Yes64 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK