President Pranab Mukherjee presents B C Roy National Awards for 2008, 2009 and 2010

Jul 2, 2016 09:07 IST

B C   Roy National AwardsPresident Pranab Mukherjee on 1 July 2016 presented the Dr. B. C. Roy National Awards for 2008, 2009 and 2010.

The awards were presented at Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi on the occasion of Doctors' Day.

List of awardees for the year 2008

Dr. Mammen Chandy
Prof. Rajeshwar Dayal
Dr. Rohit V. Bhatt
Dr. Neelam Mohan
Prof. Mohan Kameswaran
Dr. Harsha Jauhari
Dr. Gopal H. Badlani
Dr. Yash Gulati

List of awardees for the year 2009

Dr. KH Sancheti
Dr. Atul Kumar
Dr. Renu Saxena
Dr. Kanan A. Yelikar
Dr. A.K. Kriplani
Dr. G.V. Rao
Dr. H.S. Bhanushali
Dr. Moti Lal Singh
Dr. C.N. Purandare
Dr. C.V. Hari Narayan

List of awardees for the year 2010

Dr. Nikhil C. Munshi
Dr. Tejinder Singh
Prof. O.P. Kalra
Dr. Amrinder Jit Kanwar
Dr. Subash Gupta
Dr. Rajendra Prasad
Dr. Glory Alexander

About Dr. B. C. Roy Award

The B.C. Roy Awards were instituted by the Medical Council of India in 1976.

The award was instituted in memory of renowned physician and former West Bengal Chief Minister Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy.

About Dr Bidhan Chandra Roy

Bidhan Chandra Roy was the second Chief Minister of West Bengal.

He remained in his post for 14 years as an Indian National Congress candidate, from 1948 until his death in 1962.

He was a highly respected physician and a renowned freedom fighter.

Dr. Roy is often considered the great architect of West Bengal.

He founded five eminent cities, Durgapur, Kalyani, Bidhannagar, Ashokenagar and Habra.

He was an alumnus of the Medical College Calcutta of the University of Calcutta.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK