President Pranab Mukherjee signed the Telangana Bill

President of India, Pranab Mukherjee Signed the Telangana Bill to carve out Telengana state.

Created On: Mar 3, 2014 12:25 ISTModified On: Mar 4, 2014 11:08 IST

The President of India, Pranab Mukherjee Signed the Telangana Bill to carve out Telengana state on 1 March 2014. The Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill 2014 got Parliament’s approval on 20 February 2014, paving the way for creation of the country’s 29th state.

In residuary Andhra Pradesh there will be 13 districts where as Telengana will have 10 districts along with Hyderabad. The new Telangana State will comprise of Adilabad, Karimnagar, Medak, Nizamabad, Warangal, Rangareddi, Nalgonda, Mahbubnagar, Khammam and Hyderabad districts.


The Union Government had already announced grant of Special Category Status including tax incentives to the residuary state as part of a six-point development package for Andhra Pradesh’s two successor states.

Some of the important provisions of AP Reorganisation Bill

• The Bill envisages Hyderabad as the common capital for ten years. The Andhra Pradesh Governor will be Governor for both successor States of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.
• The Centre will form expert committee to suggest a new capital of Andhra Pradesh within 45 days. The Centre will also set up an apex council for the supervision of Krishna and Godavari rivers on water sharing.
• Centre allocates 25 Lok Sabha seats to residuary Andhra Pradesh and 17 Lok Sabha seats to Telangana. The residuary Andhra Pradesh will get 175 Legislative Assembly seats and Telangana 119 seats.
• Existing admission quotas in all government or private, aided or unaided institutions of higher, technical and medical education shall continue for 10 years during which common admission process shall continue.
• The Polavaram Irrigation Project will be declared as a national project and the Centre will take under its control the regulation and development and the Tungabhadra Board will continue to monitor the release of water to high level canal, low level canal and Rajolibanda diversion scheme.
• The High Court at Hyderabad will be common for both States till a separate High Court is set up for residuary Andhra Pradesh.
• Any dispute, regarding financial assets and liabilities, shall be settled through mutual agreement failing which by the Centre’s order on the advice of the Comptroller and Auditor General.
• All properties situated outside existing Andhra Pradesh will be apportioned between the successor States on the basis of population ratio.
• Greyhound and OCTOPUS forces of the existing Andhra Pradesh will be distributed after seeking opinions from the personnel and each of these forces.
• The award made by the 13th Finance Commission to the existing State of Andhra Pradesh will be apportioned between the successor States by the Centre on the basis of population and other parameters.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

1 + 7 =