President presented Stree Shakti Puraskars and Nari Shakti Puruskars for the year 2014

The Stree Shakti puraskars are conferred to six women, while Nari Shakti Puraskars are conferred on 8 womens.

Mar 9, 2015 17:17 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

President of India, Pranab Mukherjee on 8 March 2015 presented Stree Shakti puraskars and Nari Shakti Puruskars for the year 2014. The awards were given on the occasion of International Women’s Day at a function at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The Stree Shakti puraskars are conferred on six women in the area of women’s endeavor and exceptional contribution each year. The award carries a cash prize of 3 lakh rupees and a citation.

Winners of the Stree Shakti Puruskar 2014




Rani Lakshmibai Award

Seema Prakash, Madhya Pradesh

For working for the cause of vulnerable and marginalised Communities of Madhya Pradesh Since 2000 particularly for the Korku tribe of the state.

Rani Rudramma Devi Award

Astha Sansthan (NGO), Rajasthan

For protecting women’s rights, gender mainstreaming, issues relating to violence against women tribal rights, food security, transparency and right to work and others.

Mata Jijabai Award

Chandraprabha Bokey, Maharashtra

She is a social worker and is working in rural areas since 1960. Her field of work includes empowerment and rehabilitation of destitute, divorced, disabled women and rehabilitation of orphan children.

Kannagi Award

Dr. P Bhanumati, Kerala

For founding Association for Mentally Handicapped Adults (AHMA) working for welfare of the poor destitute mentally challenged adults since 1996.

Rani Gaidinliu Zeliang Award

Sister Mariola, Rajasthan

For working with the inmates at Ajmer Jail, Rajasthan since 1997 and has been lobbying for Prisons Without Walls.

Devi Ahilyabai Holkar Award

Anyay Rahit Zindagi (NGO), Goa

The organisation works towards combating trafficking of persons subjected to commercial sexual exploitation since 1997.

The Nari Shakti Puraskars have been conferred for the first time in 2015 and the award carries a cash prize of one lakh rupees and a citation. They have been instituted by the Union Ministry of Women and Child Development to honour 8 women and recognize their individual contribution in specific areas.

Winners of the Nari Shakti Puruskars for the year 2014 includes Rashmi Anand from Delhi, Nandita Krishna from Tamil Nadu, Dr. Laxmi Gautam from Uttar Pradesh, Latika Thukral from Haryana, Dr. Sailakshmi Balijepally from Tamil Nadu, Neha Kirpal from Delhi,  P Kausalya from Tamil Nadu and Dr. Swaraj Vidwan from Uttarakhand.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए