1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Prime Minister appointed economist Arvind Panagariya as the Vice Chairman of NITI Aayog

Jan 5, 2015 18:09 IST

Arvind PanagariyaPrime Minister Narendra Modi on 5 January 2015 appointed economist Arvind Panagariya as the Vice-Chairman of National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog. He is an Indian-American economist and Professor of Economics at Columbia University.

Panagariya is an Alma matter of Rajasthan University and holds a Ph.D. degree in Economics from Princeton University.

He has written around 10 books, the latest being India: The Emerging Giant, which was published in March 2008 by the Oxford University Press, New York.

Besides Arvind Panagariya, PM also appointed other members of the newly constituted NITI Aayog that came into existence on 1 January 2015 replacing 65 year old Planning Commission.

The other members appointed are:

Full-Time Members

  • Bibek Debroy, Economist
  • Dr. V.K. Saraswat, Former Secretary Defence Research & Development

Ex-officio members

  • Rajnath Singh, Union Minister of Home Affairs
  • Arun Jaitley, Union Minister of Finance, Corporate Affairs and Information & Broadcasting
  • Suresh Prabhu, Union Minister of Railways
  • Radha Mohan Singh, Union Minister of Agriculture

Special Invitees

  • Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister of Road Transport & Highways and Shipping
  • Thawar Chand Gehlot, Union Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment
  • Smriti Zubin Irani, Union Minister of Human Resource Development

Is this article important for exams ? Yes48 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK