Prime Minister constitutes Economic Advisory Council headed by Bibek Debroy

Sep 26, 2017 13:24 IST
Bibek Debroy

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 25 September 2017 constituted five-member Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (EAC-PM) headed by Bibek Debroy, a member of the Niti Aayog.

The council consists of economists of high repute and eminence including Surjit Bhalla, Rathin Roy and Ashima Goyal, who will be working as part time members of the council.

Meanwhile, Ratan Watal, the Principal Advisor to Niti Aayog, will serve as the Secretary of the Council.

Terms of reference of EAC-PM

• It will analyse any issue, economic or otherwise, that is referred to it by the Prime Minister and then advise him thereon.
• It will address issues of macroeconomic importance and present its views to the Prime Minister.
• It will attend any other task as may be desired by the prime minister from time to time.

CA eBook

The EAC-PM is an independent body which provides advice on economic issues to the government specifically to the Prime Minister.

The last chairperson of the Council, during the term of Manmohan Singh as the Prime Minister, was former Reserve Bank of India Governor C Rangarajan.

PM Narendra Modi launches 'Saubhagya' scheme

India seeks zero tolerance against terrorist safe havens at UNSC meeting

Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: PM Narendra Modi , Economic Advisory Council , Bibek Debroy , EAC-PM

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK