Prof. CNR Rao and Sachin Tendulkar Selected for Bharat Ratna Award

Government on 16 November 2013 decided to confer, Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award on eminent scientist Prof CNR Rao & Sachin Tendulkar.

Created On: Nov 16, 2013 18:17 ISTModified On: Nov 26, 2013 15:38 IST

Bharat Ratna AwardThe Government of India on 16 November 2013 decided to confer, the Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award on eminent scientist Prof CNR Rao and cricket player Sachin Tendulkar.

Sachin Tendulkar is the first sports person to win the Bharat Ratna Award.

The Bharat Ratna award so far, given only to eminent personalities from the field of dance, music, art, literature and the social sector. In the year 2011, the Government of India modified the eligibility criteria for Bharat Ratna Award - to enable eminent Sports-persons to receive the Nation’s highest civilian award.

About Prof. CNR Rao

Prof. Chintamani Nagesa Ramachandra Rao (CNR Rao) was born on 30 June 1934, Bangalore, India. He is an eminent scientist and a well recognized international authority on solid state and materials chemistry.

He has published over 1400 research papers and 45 books. Prof. CNR Rao's contributions have been recognized by most major scientific academies around the world through conferment of memberships and fellowships. He has been honoured with several national and international awards, including Padma Vibhushan.

Prof. CNR Rao is Honorary President of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore, India.

Prof, CNR Rao is presently serving as the head of the Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India.The Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister is the uppermost body that deliberates on various policy issues, pertaining to Science & Technology and also on the role it can play in the upliftment of the Indian economy.

About Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar is an Indian Batsman who is considered one of the greatest batsmen of the cricket world.

Sachin Tendulkar who belongs to Mumbai Maharashtra made his appearance in six world cups for India and was the member of the 2011 World Cup winning squad of the nation.

Sachin Tendulkar made his Test debut against arch-rival Pakistan at Karachi in 1989. He made his ODI debut against Pakistan in 1989 in Gujranwala. He currently holds the record for most hundreds in both Tests and One Day Internationals.

In 198 Test matches, Sachin Tendulkar scored over Fifteen Thousand Eight hundred runs at an average of 53.86. He slammed 51 Test centuries and an unbeaten 248 against Bangladesh in Dhaka in 2004 was his best ever.

He made 49 hundreds in the one-day format, including a double hundred which is the first in this form of cricket and 96 half centuries.

In 2012, Sachin Tendulkar became the first player to score 100 international centuries.

Sachin Tendulkar announced his retirement from Test cricket after playing his landmark 200th Test match against the West Indies on 15 November 2013. Earlier, Sachin Tendulkar announced retirement form one day cricket on 23 December 2012 and from Twenty20 cricket format on 26 May 2013.

Sachin Tendulkar

About Bharat Ratna award


  • Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian Award of the country was instituted in the year 1954.
  • It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavour.
  • The recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister himself to the President.
  • The number of annual awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year.
  • The last recipient of Bharat Ratna award is Pandit Bhimsen Joshi in 2008.
  • The first three Indians, who received the Bharat Ratna were Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman, Chakravarti Rajagopalachari and Sarvapali Radhakrishnan in 1954.
  • There is no written provision that Bharat Ratna should be awarded to Indian citizens only.
  • The award has been conferred to a naturalised Indian citizen Mother Teresa (1980) and to two non-Indians Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan and Nelson Mandela (1990).
  • The award does not carry any monetary grant.In terms of Article 18 (1) of the Constitution, the award cannot be used as a prefix or suffix to the recipient’s name.


S.No. Name Awarded In
1. Shri Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1878-1972) 1954
2. Dr. Sarvapali Radhakrishnan (1888-1975)  
3. Dr. Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman  (1888-1970) 1954
4. Dr. Bhagwan Das (1869-1958) 1955
5. Dr. Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya (1861-1962) 1955
6. Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru (1889 -1964) 1955
7. Pt. Govind Ballabh Pant (1887-1961) 1957
8. Dr. Dhondo Keshave Karve (1858-1962) 1958
9. Dr. Bidhan  Chandra Roy (1882-1962) 1961
10. Shri Purushottam Das Tandon (1882-1962) 1961
11. Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1884-1963) 1962
12. Dr. Zakir Hussain (1897-1969) 1963
13. Dr. Pandurang Vaman  Kane (1880-1972) 1963
14. Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri  (Posthumous) (1904-1966) 1966
15. Smt. Indira Gandhi (1917-1984) 1971
16. Shri Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1894-1980) 1975
17. Shri Kumaraswami Kamraj (Posthumous) (1903-1975) 1976
18. Mother Mary Taresa Bojaxhiu (Mother Teresa) (1910-1997) 1980
19. Shri Acharya Vinobha Bhave (Posthumous) (1895-1982) 1983
20. Khan Abdul Ghaffar  Khan (1890-1988) 1987
21. Shri Marudu Gopalan Ramachandran (Posthumous) (1917-1987) 1988
22. Dr. Bhim Rao Ramji Ambedkar (Posthumous) (1891-1956) 1990
23. Dr. Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela (b-1918) 1990
24. Shri Rajiv Gandhi (Posthumous) (1944-1991) 1991
25. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (Posthumous) (1875-1950) 1991
26. Shri Morarji Ranchhodji Desai (1896-1995) 1991
27. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad  (Posthumous) (1888-1958) 1992
28. Shri Jehangir Ratanji Dadabhai Tata (1904-1993) 1992
29. Shri Satyajit Ray (1922-1992) 1992
30. Shri Gulzarilal Nanda (1898-1998) 1997
31. Smt. Aruna Asaf Ali (Posthumous) (1909-1996) 1997
32. Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (b-1931)  
33. Smt. Madurai Sanmukhavadivu Subbulakshmi (1916-2005) 1998
34. Shri Chidambaram Subramniam (1910-2000) 1998
35. Loknayak Jayaprakash Narayan (Posthumous) (1902-1979) 1999
36. Professor Amartya Sen (b-1933) 1999
37. Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi (Posthumous) (1890-1950) 1999
38. Pandit Ravi Shankar (b-1920) 1999
39. Sushri  Lata Dinanath Mangeshkar (b-1929) 2001
40. Ustad Bismillah  Khan (1916-2006) 2001
41. Pandit Bhimsen  Gururaj Joshi (1922-2011) 2009
42. Prof. CNR Rao ( b-1934)
43. Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar (b-1973) 2013


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

9 + 4 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all