1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Raghuram Rajan won Euromoney Award for Best Central Bank Governor of the Year 2014

Oct 18, 2014 12:09 IST

Dr. Raghuram Rajan Dr. Raghuram Rajan, Governor of Reserve Bank of India on 10 October 2014 was conferred with Euromoney’s Central Bank Governor of the Year Award 2014 in Washington.

Euromoney in its comment said that Rajan’s tough monetary medicine combated the storm ravaging the deficit-ridden economy in the recent emerging market crisis. At present, he is battling vested interests to arouse a sleepy financial system for over one million people.

Bank of Mexico Governor Agustin Carstens was the winner of the award in 2013.

About Dr. Raghuram Rajan
• He is the 23rd Governor of the Reserve Bank of India
• Rajan has served as chief economic adviser to India's Ministry of Finance
• He has been the Chief Economist at the International Monetary Fund from October 2003 to December 2006
• The internationally-renowned economist, earned acclaim for his warnings in 2005 of an upcoming global crisis of sorts, which has been true to his word
• In January 2003, the American Finance Association awarded Rajan with the inaugural Fischer Black Prize for the best finance researcher under the age of 40
• Some other awards received by Rajan includes
a) The global Indian of the year award from NASSCOM in 2011
b) The Infosys prize for the Economic Sciences in 2012
c) The Center for Financial Studies-Deutsche Bank Prize for financial economics in 2013 for his "ground-breaking research work which influenced financial and macro-economic policies around the world

Is this article important for exams ? Yes120 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK