Rahul Dravid and Mahela Jayawardena appointed to ICC Cricket Committee

May 16, 2016 14:22 IST

Former India captain Rahul Dravid and ex-Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardena were on 13 May 2016 appointed to the ICC Cricket Committee for a 3-year term.

While Rahul Dravid was chosen by current test captains to represent the interests of the current players, Mahela Jayawardena will represent the interests of past players.

Along with Dravid, Tim May, former Australia off-spinner, was also elected to the committee to represent the interests of the current players.

While Dravid and Jayawardena replaced Kumar Sangakkara and Laxman Sivaramakrishnan respectively, Mahela Jayawardena will take over from former Australia captain Mark Taylor.

Meanwhile, the ICC re-elected Anil Kumble as the chairman of the committee for another 3-year term until 2018. The former India captain was appointed as the Chair in 2012.

About ICC Cricket Committee

• The ICC Cricket Committee is representative of all stakeholders in the game, including players, umpires and the media.

• It is empowered to make recommendations on cricket playing issues to the Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC).

• If the matter is a policy matter, the committee will send its recommendation to the ICC Board for the final approval.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Rahul Dravid , Mahela Jayawardena , appointed , ICC Cricket Committee

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK