Raimona forest reserve named Assam’s sixth national park

Raimona National Park has a variety of wildlife including tiger, clouded leopard, Golden Langur, Indian gaur, Asian Elephant, spotted deer, wild buffalo and hornbill.

Created On: Jun 7, 2021 14:54 ISTModified On: Jun 7, 2021 14:55 IST
Raimona National Park

Raimona forest reserve in western Assam's Kokrajhar district was notified as Assam's sixth national park on the occasion of the World Environment Day on June 5, 2021. 

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma announced that the state government has decided to upgrade Raimona Sanctuary in BTR (Bodoland Territorial Region) to a national park.

The Assam CM also stated that work is underway to give national park status to Dehing Patkai Wildlife Sanctuary. The State Environment and Forest Minister Parimal Suklabaidya said that the upgrading of Dehing Patkai has been a much-awaited aspiration for the conservation of rainforest and elephant habitats.

Raimona National Park: Know all about it!

• Raimona National Park is located in the Kokrajhar district in Western Assam, along West Bengal and Bhutan. 

• The national park has a variety of wildlife including tiger, clouded leopard, Golden Langur, Indian gaur, Asian Elephant, spotted deer, wild buffalo and hornbill.

• The national park is also known to host over 150 species of butterflies, 170 species of birds, many species of orchids and 380 species of plants.

• It is located within the Bodoland Territorial Region and its area includes the northern part of the notified Ripu Reserve Forest (508.62 sq. km).

• The Raimona national park is a vital part of the 2,837 sq km stretch of Manas National Park  and the Chirang-Ripu Elephant Reserve. The national park roughly covers an area of 422 sqkm. 

•According to forest officials, the national park is in close proximity to the forested areas of Phipsoo Wildlife Sanctuary and Jigme Singye Wangchuk National Park in Bhutan, creating a transboundary conservation landscape of more than 2,400 sq km.

The officials said that such protected transboundary ecological settings will ensure long-standing conservation of wild and endangered species such as the golden langur which is the mascot of Bodoland Territorial Council and the Bengal tiger, Asian elephant and a diverse flora and fauna.

Dehing Patkai Wildlife Sanctuary

The wildlife sanctuary is also soon to be declared as Assam's seventh national park. 
Located in eastern Assam, the sanctuary is under stress for unregulated coal mining in the vicinity.

Which are Assam's previous five national parks?

Assam had five national parks before notifying Raimona as the sixth and they include: 

1. Kaziranga National Park: It is located in Golaghat, Karbi Anglong and Nagaon districts of the state of Assam. 

2. Manas National Park: Located in the Himalayan foothills, it is contiguous with the Royal Manas National Park in Bhutan.

3. Nameri National Park: It is located in the foothills of the eastern Himalayas in the Sonitpur District of Assam, India, about 35 km from Tezpur.

4. Orang National Park: It is located on the northern bank of the Brahmaputra River in the Darrang and Sonitpur districts of Assam.

5. Dibru-Saikhowa National Park: It is located in Dibrugarh and Tinsukia districts of Assam.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Related Stories

Post Comment

6 + 5 =