" />
  1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Rajeev Shukla appointed as Chairman of IPL Governing Council

Apr 7, 2015 08:22 IST

Rajeev Shukla on 6 April 2015 was re-appointed as the chairman of the Indian Premier League's (IPL) Governing Council by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

His appointment came just a day before the opening ceremony of the IPL-8 in Kolkata.

Former Union Minister and Congress leader Shukla was the IPL chairman till 2013 when he resigned from the post in the aftermath of the IPL spot-fixing scandal.

Sourav Ganguly was a new entrant to the IPL Governing Council while the senior national selection committee led by Sandeep Patil was retained for another season. Team India Director Ravi Shastri also remained in the IPL Governing Council.

Other inclusions in the Governing Council include
• Head the Marketing Committee – Chetan Desai of Goa
• Chairman of the Technical committee – Anil Kumble
• Head the powerful finance committee - Jyotiraditya Scindia
• In-charge of the Tours and Programmes Committee - Gokaraju Gangaraju of Andhra Pradesh  
• Head of the Media Committee - Biswarup Dey, the treasurer of the Cricket Association of Bengal
• Affiliations Committee head - Anurag Thakur
• Chair the Constitution Review Committee – BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya


Is this article important for exams ? Yes22 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK