1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Ramon Magsaysay Awardees for the year 2015 announced; Two Indians among the awardees

Jul 29, 2015 12:24 IST

Ramon Magsaysay Award FoundationThe Board of Trustees of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) on 29 July 2015 announced the Ramon Magsaysay awardees for the year 2015.

Among the five awardees who will be conferred with the so-called Asia’s Nobel Prize, there are two Indians, namely Sanjiv Chaturvedi and Anshu Gupta.

The awards will be presented on 31 August 2015 at Manila, Philippines.

List of Awardees

Sanjiv Chaturvedi, India: He was awarded for Emergent Leadership for his exemplary integrity, courage and tenacity in uncompromisingly exposing and painstakingly investigating corruption in public office. He is an Indian Forest Service officer and currently the deputy secretary of All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS). He also served as a Chief Vigilance Officer (CVO) at AIIMS during 2012-14.

Anshu Gupta, India: He was recognized for his creative vision in transforming the culture of giving in India and his enterprising leadership in treating cloth as a sustainable development resource for the poor. He founded Goonj in 1999, which is a non-governmental organisation based in Delhi and works in 21 states across India in disaster relief, humanitarian aid and community development.

Kommaly Chanthavong, Laos: She was recognized for her fearless, indomitable spirit to revive and develop the ancient Laotian art of silk weaving, creating livelihoods for thousands of poor, war-displaced Laotians, and thus preserving the dignity of women and her nation’s priceless silken cultural treasure.

Ligaya Fernando-Amilbangsa, the Philippines: She was recognized for her single-minded crusade in preserving the endangered artistic heritage of southern Philippines, and in creatively propagating a dance form that celebrates and deepens the sense of shared cultural identity among Asians.

Kyaw Thu, Myanmar: He was recognized for his generous compassion in addressing the fundamental needs of both the living and the dead in Myanmar -- regardless of their class or religion -- and his channeling personal fame and privilege to mobilize many others toward serving the greater social good.

About Ramon Magsaysay Award

The Award established in 1957 is Asia’s highest honour and is widely regarded as the region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize.

The Award honours those individuals whose lives are characterized by selfless service which impacts the lives of the greater many – the same ideals and achievement for which the Philippines third President Ramon Magsaysay is remembered.

The awardees receive a certificate, a medallion bearing the likeness of the late President, and a cash prize.

Till date 307 persons have received the award which was first given in 1958.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Quick Digest

Who: 2015 Ramon Magsaysay Awardees

Where: Manila , Philippines

What: Announced

When: 29 July 2015

Is this article important for exams ? Yes107 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK