1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Ranjib Biswal, the IPL Chairman and Congress leader took oath as Rajya Sabha MP

Apr 24, 2014 09:00 IST

Ranjib Biswal, the IPL Chairman and senior Congress leader from Odisha on 23 April 2014 took oath as Rajya Sabha member in New Delhi. His oath was administered by the Chariman of Rajya Sabha, Hamid Ansari (the Vice President of India) in his Chamber in Parliament House.

Earlier, the newly elected BJD MPs and former Odisha ministers Kalpataru Das and Sarojini Hembram took their oath as Rajya Sabha members on 22 April 2014.  

The fourth member, BJD leader AU Singh Deo who was elected to Rajya Sabha was recalled by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik to contest the Assembly election from Balangir seat. Due to Biswal’s action, the four seat of Rajya Sabha of the state remained vacant.

Elections for the four vacant seats from Odisha were held on 7 February 2014. Three seats were won by ruling BJD and the fourth seat went to Congress.

About Ranjib Biswal selection as the IPL Chairman
Former national selector Ranjib Biswal was appointed as the Chairman of the Indian Premier League on 29 September 2013 at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). He succeeded Rajeev Shukla as the IPL Chairman after Shukla resigned from the post following spot-fixing and the betting scandal broke out in May 2013.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes33 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK