Real Madrid won the Copa del Ray Football tournament of Spain

Real Madrid won the Copa del Rey Cup on 16 April 2014

Created On: Apr 24, 2014 14:10 ISTModified On: Apr 24, 2014 11:07 IST

Real Madrid won the Copa del Rey Cup on 16 April 2014. They defeated Barcelona 2-1 in the final played at Mestalla in Valencia, Spain.

In the final, it was Gerath Bale’s second goal that sealed the victory for Real Madrid. The esteemed Spanish club won the cup for the 19th time.

The highlight of the final match was the Gale Berath’s second goal in the 85th minute. The winger from Wales sprinted from the halfway line into the penalty area before slipping the ball brilliantly between the legs of Barca goalkeeper Jose Manuel Pinto.

About the Copa del Rey tournament

The Copa del Rey football tournament or King's Cup is an annual football cup competition for Spanish football teams. Like the Emperor's Cup in Japan the tournament is one of the most well-known football competitions bearing the name of a monarch.

The competition was founded in 1903, thus making it the oldest Spanish football competition. The winner of Copa del Rey goes to the UEFA Europa League; but if the winner also qualifies for UEFA Champions League, then the losing finalist goes into the Europa League.

Barcelona has won the cup on the most occasions, with 26 wins.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

3 + 0 =