Results of biennial elections to Rajya Sabha from UP and Uttarakhand declared

Manohar Parrikar and nine other leaders elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Uttar Pradesh.

Created On: Nov 15, 2014 16:16 ISTModified On: Nov 15, 2014 16:11 IST

Results of biennial elections to Rajya Sabha (Council of States) from Uttar Pradesh (UP) and Uttarakhand declared on 13 November 2014. The elections were contested for 11 seats (ten from UP and one from Uttarakhand).

Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar and nine other leaders from different political parties were elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Uttar Pradesh. The other leaders who were elected to the Upper House of the Parliament, include

• Ram Gopal Yadav
• Tazeen Fatima (wife of Azam Khan)
• Neeraj Shekhar (son of former Prime Minister Chandra Shekhar)
• Ravi Prakash Verma
• Javed Ali Khan
• Chandrapal Singh Yadav
• Raja Ram
• Veer Singh
• PL Punia

On the other hand, in Uttarakhand, Congress nominee Manorama Sharma Dobariyal was elected unopposed from the only vacant Rajya Sabha seat in the state.

They were elected to replace 11 MPs of Rajya Sabha whose term will expire on 25 November 2014. These 11 MPs include ten from UP and one from Uttarakhand. List of names

From Uttarakhand

From Uttar Pradesh (UP)

  • Bhagat Singh Koshiyari
  • Akhilesh Das
  • Avtar Singh Karimpuri
  • Brijlal Khabari
  • Brijesh Pathak
  • Raja Ram
  • Veer Singh
  • Amar Singh
  • Ram Gopal Yadav
  • Kusum Rai
  • Mohammad Adeeb

Constitutional Provision(s) for Rajya Sabha election
Article 80 (4)

The representatives of each State in the Council of States shall be elected by the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of the State in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote.

Article 83
The Council of States shall not be subject to dissolution, but as nearly as possible one-third of the members thereof shall retire as soon as may be on the expiration of every second year in accordance with the provisions made in that behalf by Parliament by law.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

1 + 0 =