Sahitya Akademi announced Bhasha Samman

The Bhasha Samman is given to 3-4 persons every year in different languages on the basis of recommendation of experts' committees constituted for the purpose.

Jun 25, 2015 14:14 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

साहित्य अकादमीSahitya Akademi on 24 June 2015 announced Bhasha Samman. Four scholars were selected for the award for their contribution to classical and medieval literature in various languages.

K Meenakshi Sundaram was selected for contributions to Classical and Medieval Literature (Southern) for year 2013. She has written scholarly essays on Tirukkural and made rich contribution to medieval Tamil literature. His work on Kambar and in Cilappatikarm minor characters has won laurels for him.

Acharya Munishwar Jha has been recognised for Classical and Medieval Literature (Eastern) for the year 2014. He has made valuable contribution in the area of Sanskrit literature for which he was honoured with the Presidential Award in 2006. His chief works include Vidyapati Vanmaya (Maithili), Tapasa Kavi Vidyapati (Maithili), Bhu-Parikramanam (Sanskrit) among others.

Charu Chandra Pande and Mathuradutt Mathpal have been jointly recognised for their work towards the enrichment of Kumauni.

Pande has worked extensively on Kumauni language and has published Sej Gumani, Eco Farms Hills (in English), Chhodo Gulami Khitab and Angwal. On the other hand, Mathpal is a poet, teacher and Kumauni scholar and published Aang-Aang Chichail Haigo (poetry), Mook Geet (a book based on famous Kumauni poet Pandit Kripal Dutt Joshi) along with translation of many poems in Hindi.

Bhasha Samman
Bhasha Samman instituted in 1996 by Sahitya Akademi is an annual award and is given to books of outstanding merit and for outstanding translations in the 24 languages recognised by it. The award is given for considerable contribution to the propagation, modernization or enrichment of the languages concerned.

Every year 3-4 persons are awarded in different languages on the basis of recommendation of experts' committees constituted for the purpose.

The Samman carries a cash prize of 1 lakh rupees, an inscribed copper plaque and a citation.

The first Bhasha Sammans were awarded to Dharikshan Mishra for Bhojpuri, Bansi Ram Sharma and MR Thakur for Pahari (Himachali), K Jathappa Rai and Mandara Keshava Bhat for Tulu and Chandra Kanta Mura Singh for Kokborok. They were awarded for their contribution to the development of their respective languages.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप