1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Saina Nehwal won women’s single of Syed Modi Grand Prix Gold Badminton Tournament 2015

Jan 28, 2015 15:36 IST

Saina Nehwal of India on 25 January 2015 won the women’s singles of Syed Modi Grand Prix Gold Badminton Tournament 2015. She defeated World Champion Carolina Marin of Spain 19-21, 25-23, 21-16 in the finals played at Babu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh.

With this win, Saina retained her title which she had won in 2014 and also maintained her 100 per cent win record against Carolina in three career meetings.

Saina Nehwal is ranked third in the world whereas Carolina Marin is ranked seventh in the world.

Apart from this, third seeded Parupalli Kashyap beat World Number five K Srikanth to win men's singles of the Syed Modi Grand Prix Gold badminton.

However, in the mixed doubles, Indian pair of Manu Attri and K Maneesha went down to top seeded Indonesian pair of Riky Widianto and Puspita Richi Dili 17-21, 17-21 to finish runners-up.

About Syed Modi International India Open Grand Prix championship

• It is named after a famous Indian badminton player Syed Modi, an eight-time National Badminton champion.

• The championship is hosted every year and the award money in each category is 120000 US dollars.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes65 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK